Top comics for 1/21/15

Posted: January 27, 2015 in comics, opinion
Tags: , , , , ,

3684075-loki_agent_of_asgard_3

So there was a pretty big Marvel announcement last week, huh? I can’t say the move surprises me, as this sounds like a way to soft reboot a few things. I mean they can easily pick what versions of characters they want to bring to the 616 universe by the end and make them ‘main universe canon.’ What would be the best way to bring back Wolverine? Pick a Logan from another dimension and stick him in the 616 universe when everything returns to normal. Am I positive this will happen? No, but it is a strong possibility. What I am not sure I understand is if every book is going to stop selling except the Secret Wars tie-ins or will other series continue and either pretend Secret Wars isn’t happening or be a tie-in somehow. I’m excited to see where this event takes the Marvel universe, especially since so many universes are going to be smashed up into one big world. How will the politics of each universe blend, what about the multiple Captain America’s, will they get along? Probably my biggest question is how do the multiple Dr. Dooms react. Will they join forces or battle for control? The original Secret Wars was a good series, so I am waiting patiently at the edge of my seat to get my hands on this new event.

Hope you enjoy my list! Follow me on Twitter @Gallivant_Gamer.

1. Superior Iron-Man #4

Tony Stark is a dick. Seriously, Evil Stark is one of the biggest dicks I’ve seen in a comic series. I mean he gave Daredevil his sight back for an hour to try to addict him to this Extremis App; if that isn’t the definition of evil and assholery then I have no idea what is. The authors on this series are doing a great job at making me hate Iron-Man and hoping for him to be taken down while at the same time making me want to see what evil he has planned next. This issue was impressive because of the reveal that Daredevil knows all about Tony Stark’s evil plot. As readers, we might not have known just how evil Stark had become, but if it wasn’t evident before it is now. The things that were revealed in this issue not only show that he doesn’t care about anything but making money, but that he has a blatant disregard towards basic freedoms that are the right of all people. He just doesn’t care and you start to wonder that if/when he returns to normal, will he be able to live with himself?

I’m not the biggest Daredevil fan, but you have to feel bad for the guy in this issue. And yet, I find that I can’t because of how dumb he was. He finds out the big bad plan and instead of going to the Avengers to get help taking down one of the smartest and most powerful superhero’s know to mankind, he decides it would be a super idea to go and one-on-one. You can probably guess how that turns out, and you can’t help but wonder how Daredevil didn’t see it coming. It isn’t great writing, but the strength of the rest of the comic and the interesting development that is shown on the last few pages is enough to give it the benefit of the doubt and include it on my list.

2. The Amazing Spider-man #13

I’m just going to warn you right now, issue #14 is probably going to make this list as well. Spider-Verse has been fantastic thus far and I can’t get enough of it. The interplay between Spider-men, the epic fight to save all reality, the realization from Superior Spider-Ock that he loses in the end; everything is done so well that you can’t help but want more. This particular issue finally reveals what it is that the Morlun family needs ‘the scion, the other, and the bride’ for, and it turns out that it’s so they can wipe out all Spider-men everywhere. It’s a pretty drastic plan, and my one problem with it is don’t they need to eat Spider-people to survive? I’m sure they have a reason, so I’ll let it slide for now.

One of the more important things this chapter does, while held to only a page, is give us some insight into what the other Peter Parker’s are thinking, in this case the Mumbai Parker. He starts to wonder if his existence has any meaning because he feels 616-Peter is the main Spider-man and he doesn’t matter. It’s a valid point, and you realize that other Spiders are thinking the same things. Going into the final battle, it is important to make sure everyone’s mental state is stable and they know what they’re fighting for. Thankfully, Spider-UK steps in and says that every universe matters and that every Spider-man needs to play a part, including Mumbai-Parker. The ending pages are mostly setup for the final chapter, but the art and action keep you engaged for the most part. As they say: Spider-friends, GO FOR IT! (See that’s the last line in the issue…yea, I thought it was kinda lame too).

3. Loki: Agent of Asgard #10

I want to start by saying this: I hate what they’re doing to Loki. I am a big fan, so seeing him torn down and left with nothing is actually the opposite of what I want to happen. That said, I can’t hold the way I feel against the spectacular writing going on here. I want to give the authors of this series the respect they deserve and let everyone know that if they aren’t reading this series yet then they need to go out and get the previous nine issues right now. This is easily one of my favorite books, and though the past couple issues felt a little slow, this issue really cranks it up and we see the consequences of some major storylines that have been a long time coming. In the past, we know that Kid Loki was killed so that Evil Loki could take his body, but he was left with a feeling of guilt and regret and vowed to try to do the right thing. No one knew about what happened except for Loki, and in this issue Loki ends up revealing everything.

I did not expect this at all. I never thought in a million years that Loki would be the one to tell everyone what happened. I was positive some outside force would reveal his transgressions, and yet in the end, it makes sense that Loki would in fact be the one to bring to light his actions. The authors of this series are trying to redeem Loki, and his redemption starts with him admitting what he did. Seeing as Thor left Loki to fend for himself in Asgard, the consequences of Loki’s actions are going to have ramifications for the foreseeable future. Obviously the authors have a plan in place for Loki, I just hope he ends up in a good place with people that care about him.

-GG

Leave a comment